Deutsch  |  Français  |  Italiano  |  Español  |  Português
Lost and found

Thousands of cats and dogs disappear every year, some forever. Make sure you always know where your pet is, inside or out, at home and on holiday with petpointer.


Petpointer - Where's my pet?

Has my pet gone missing? Has it been accidentally locked in a garage or shed? Has it been stolen or involved in an accident? Where should I start to look..?

The answer: petpointer

Developed in Switzerland, Petpointer is a GPS tracker combining state-of-the-art positioning technology with Swisscom's cutting-edge communications to create a unique product that provides peace of mind for every cat- and dog-owner 24/7.

Loading the player...

Localisation with petpointer

The GPS and LBS localisation technology in the petpointer makes it possible to pinpoint the location of your pet down to a few metres. This location is then transmitted to your smartphone, tablet or PC in over 220 countries worldwide.

How it works

petpointer mobile

How petpointer works


The latest-generation GPS chip in each petpointer uses three satellite systems to locate your pet. This optimises positioning, even in the most difficult conditions.

The world's smallest animal tracker

The petpointer is the smallest of its kind and can be attached to any pet-collar. A surface area of just 14 square centimetres ensures your pet enjoys full freedom of movement.


The Petpointer housing is constructed from a particularly high quality, robust and waterproof (IP67) plastic making it completely safe to use outdoors.

Battery life

The very latest battery technology, combined with a highly sophisticated energy management system, guarantees the longest possible usage time. A battery-life of 3-5 days can be expected with a transmission frequency of once per hour.

In over 220 countries

This advanced technology ensures that the petpointer to be used in over 220 countries. This means that the petpointer can go on holiday with you, too.

Designed in Switzerland

The petpointer was developed as a joint project by the STMZ lost-pet service with positioning specialists at leading Swiss universities and various engineers from the watchmaking industry. Swiss technology, Swiss precision and carefully constructed in Switzerland.

Smallest animal location device in the world.

petpointer GPS Tracking collar

Fast, simple collar attachment

The petpointer can be attached to any pet collar quickly and easily. Your pet does not have to get accustomed to a new collar. The battery can be simply removed from the petpointer for re-charging without removing the collar.

cat-life cat collar

A quick-release closure mechanism on cat collars is extremely important so as to prevent the risk of strangulation or entanglement. The STMZ developed its own cat collar with a weight-sensitive self-opening safety catch, similar in principle to a ski binding, so as to prevent serious accidents.
petpointer GPS Tracker - collar attachment
petpointer GPS Tracker - collar attachment
petpointer GPS Tracker - collar attachment
petpointer GPS Tracker - collar attachment

Easy to operate with or without app

Our app makes it simple for you to use the petpointer quickly and accurately, but you can also use our website to check your pet's location from your browser. Petpointer is compatible with all PCs/Macs and mobile devices.

petpointer GPS Tracker for pets

Advantages for you. Comfort for your pet.

During the development of petpointer, we considered it extremely important to integrate the key elements set out below in order to guarantee the greatest possible certainty for you and the utmost comfort for your cat or dog:

Advantages for you

  • Safe
  • Easy care
  • Suitable for holiday use
  • Inexpensive
  • Swiss design

Comfort for your pet

  • Light
  • Small
  • Familiar
  • Robust
  • Unobtrusive
petpointer cat

Manufacture - Swiss designed

The petpointer was developed and tested in Switzerland by HergTech AG in conjunction with the Schweizerischen Tiermeldezentrale, positioning specialists from leading Swiss universities and various engineers from the watchmaking industry.

The petpointer is also produced in Switzerland to ensure the best possible quality. The highest quality GPS location services are also ensured from our communications partner, Swisscom.

petpointer GPS Tracking Manufacturer Route
petpointer GPS Tracker
petpointer GPS Tracker


  • 6/12/24 months

per month from



EU  from € 3.95

England from £ 3.65
Denmark from DKK 33.25
Sweden from SEK 39.95
Norway from NOK 39.95
*1 Comparison of prices € incl. 20% VAT
Prices for Switzerland.
Prices for the device and subscription are country-specific.

All countries: Visa, Mastercard
Switzerland (additionally): AmericanExpress, Swisscom, PostFinance e-Finance & Card
To transmit the position data of your pet from the petpointer to the server. These data can be called up from the server using a PC, laptop or smartphone.

A communications subscription is required to transmit the position data. The subscription covers the cost of these data communications and you can subscribe for 6, 12 or 24 months on after registration.

The subscription settles the data transmission from Petpointer to server only. It covers all data transfer costs in your home country and abroad. You do NOT have any additional Roaming costs when you are abroad. This data exchange works in over 220 countries, including the whole of Europe.

When you call up the position data from the server via App or on through mobile network, the usual fees for Internet will be charged by your Network provider.


Can't find your question? We would be happy to answer directly. Simply contact us by email or phone.

Petpointer is suited for cats and dogs of all kinds.

Petpointer turns itself off between the short time it takes to relay location information. No transmition, no standby, nothing. A small internal clock wakes the device briefly at pre-programmed intervals while the petpointer determines its location and transmits this information. In this moment, new instructions can be given to the petpointer with regard to the frequency of the position determinations. These messages are then deposited in a kind of "mailbox" until the device wakes up. As soon as the "mailbox" is emptied and instructions implemented, the device turns itself off again.

This approach was selected as the least strain on the animal. The moment of transmission corresponds to making a short call on a mobile phone.

However, as making calls for hours on end is not necessarily very healthy for us humans either, we recommend setting the location query to take place every one to two hours. This then lasts only a few seconds.

Certainly, more intensive tracking is interesting while getting to know pet pointer and determining your pet’s regular route, however this is not recommended over the long term, meaning over several days. For this reason, so-called "Full Tracking" and “Tracking every 15 minutes” is limited in time.

The safety clasp is a very important element for cat collars as it prevents the collar becoming a trap. In order to remove the risk of strangulation or entanglement with the front legs, the Swiss Central Animal Registration Office, STMZ, developed its own safety collar a few years ago and has been steadily continuing its development. The collar is unique to the present day.

Together with engineers of the watch and clock industry and various veterinarians, a collar was developed which can be individually adapted to the weight of an animal in a similar way to a ski binding. It releases both sideways and lengthwise and can be precisely adapted to 200 grams. This collar was tested by the EPFL. Unnecessary accidents can be prevented with the cat-life cat collar.

Watch TV report

Again and again we get the question of whether one could simply implant a chip with the same function. This is not possible for various reasons:

The technology for tracking and transmitting is (still) too large. Petpointer uses the world's smallest possible elements and still needs about 14 cm2 for this!

If you want to determine a location and then forward it to a central server, this requires energy. The batteries suited for this product are still much too large for implanting and totally unsuitable. In addition, this energy source has to be recharged over and over again.

Petpointer’s leading-edge technology in tracking and data transmition offers precision never previously seen with the added benefit of using the device in 220 countries without additional roaming costs.

This advanced technology also makes the tiny size of the petpointer possible. Petpointer is currently the world's smallest tracker for household pets.

Petpointer can be mounted very easily onto any pet collar and changing the battery is a quick and simple task that can be carried out without removing the collar.

The user's provider is irrelevant in that petpointer stores its data on a server. This data transmission occurs on the mobile telephony network through machine-to-machine (M2M) technology, for which Swisscom is responsible. Local providers will be used when abroad. This information can then be accessed from the server via a smartphone, laptop or PC at any time.

Petpointer is meant for use in the country of purchase. However, due to its advanced technology, petpointer can be implemented in over 220 countries. This also makes it a reliable companion on holiday.

We are committed to quality. For this reason, petpointer was developed in Switzerland in cooperation with the Swiss Central Animal Registration Offices, tracking specialists from leading universities and engineers from the watch-making industry.

Petpointer’s research, development, technology and manufacture all take place in Switzerland. Swisscom is the largest network provider in Switzerland ensuring the best possible communication between each petpointer device and the server.

Recommend us

The petpointer is officially recommended by the STMZ (Schweizerische Tiermeldezentrale). You can recommend it as well and help other animal-lovers keep their beloved pets safe rather than lost. Thank you.

petpointer GPS Tracker

Français  |  Italiano  |  English  |  Español  |  Português
GPS Tracking Hilfe

Jährlich verschwinden Zehntausende Hunde und Katzen. Viele für immer. Mit dem petpointer wissen Sie jederzeit ganz einfach, wo sich Ihr Liebling gerade aufhält, egal ob draussen oder drinnen, ob hierzulande oder im Urlaub in fremden Ländern.

Zahlen

petpointer - Wo ist mein Liebling?

Hat sich mein Tier verlaufen? Wartet es hilflos eingesperrt in einer fremden Garage? Wurde es gar gestohlen oder in einen Unfall verwickelt? Wo suchen...?

Die Antwort: petpointer

Dieser in der Schweiz entwickelte GPS-Tracker verbindet bahnbrechende Ortungstechnologie mit der hochmodernen Kommunikationstechnik von Swisscom zu einem einzigartigen Produkt, das jedem Hunde- oder Katzenbesitzer ein beruhigendes Gefühl der Sicherheit gibt. Tag und Nacht, Jahr für Jahr.

Loading the player...

Lokalisieren mit dem petpointer

Die im petpointer integrierten Ortungstechnologie (GPS und LBS) ermöglichen eine Lokalisierung Ihres Lieblings auf wenige Meter genau. Der so ermittelte Standort wird in über 220 Ländern laufend auf Ihr Smartphone, Ihren Tablet-PC oder Ihren stationären PC übermittelt.

Technische Funktionsweise

petpointer GPS Tracking

So funktioniert petpointer

Ortung

Der von petpointer eingesetzte GPS-Chip gehört der neuesten Generation an und nutzt für die Lokalisierung gleich 3 Satellitensysteme. Dadurch ist eine optimale Positionierung auch bei schwierigen Verhältnissen möglich.

Kleinster Tier-Tracker weltweit

Der petpointer ist mit seinen 14 Quadratzentimetern Fläche der Kleinste seiner Art und kann an jedem handelsüblichen Halsband befestigt werden. Dies garantiert Ihrem Tier eine optimale Bewegungsfreiheit.

Outdoor geprüft

Das aus einem besonders hochwertigen Kunststoff hergestellte Gehäuse ist äusserst robust und wasserdicht (IP67). Dadurch stehen einem Einsatz in freier Natur nichts im Wege.

Batterielaufzeit

Neueste Batterietechnik - verbunden mit einem bis ins Detail ausgefeilten Energiemanagement - garantieren eine maximale Einsatzzeit. Bei einer Sendefrequenz von 1x pro Stunde hält die Batterie ca. 3-5 Tage lang.

In über 220 Ländern

Die von petpointer eingesetzte Technik ermöglicht einen Einsatz in über 220 Ländern. Damit begleitet Sie der petpointer auch in Ihre Ferien.

Designed in Switzerland

Der petpointer ist Schweizer Qualität durch und durch. Entwickelt in einer Kooperation der STMZ Schweizerische Tiermeldezentrale mit Ortungsspezialisten führender Schweizer Universitäten und unterschiedlichen Ingenieuren aus der Uhrenindustrie. Und sorgfältig gebaut in der Schweiz.

Kleinstes Tier-Ortungsgerät der Welt!

petpointer GPS Tracking Halsband
Route

Schnelles und einfaches Anbringen am Halsband

Der petpointer lässt sich sehr schnell und einfach an jedem Halsband befestigen - egal ob bei Hunden oder Katzen. Ihr Liebling muss sich also nicht an ein neues Halsband gewöhnen. Zum Aufladen der Batterie kann diese mit einem kurzen Handgriff aus dem petpointer entnommen werden, ohne dass das Halsband entfernt werden muss.

cat-life Katzenhalsband

Beim Katzenhalsband kommt dem Verschluss eine ganz zentrale Bedeutung zu, um die Gefahren einer Strangulierung oder des Einfädelns mit den Vorderbeinen zu beseitigen. Vor einigen Jahren entwickelte die STMZ ein eigenes Katzenhalsband, dessen Sicherheitsverschluss, wie bei einer Skibindung, nach eingestelltem Gewicht auslöst und damit schwere Unfälle verhindert.

cat-life.ch Website
petpointer GPS Tracking - Halsband
petpointer GPS Tracking - Halsband
petpointer GPS Tracking - Halsband
petpointer GPS Tracking - Halsband

Einfachste Bedienung mit oder ohne App

Unsere App ermöglicht den einfachen und zielgerichteten Einsatz des petpointers für unterwegs. Die Wanderrouten Ihres Lieblings können Sie aber auch ganz einfach im Webbrowser auf unserer Website verfolgen. Sie kann auf allen PC/Mac und mobilen Geräten verwendet werden.

petpointer GPS Tracking

Mehrwert für Sie. Wohlfühlfaktor für Ihr Tier.

Beim petpointer haben wir in der mehrjährigen Entwicklungsphase grössten Wert darauf gelegt, alles Entscheidende exzellent zu integrieren. Das bedeutet: maximale Sicherheit für Sie und artgerechten Komfort für Ihre Katze oder Ihren Hund.

Echter Mehrwert für Sie

  • Sicher
  • Pflegeleicht
  • Urlaubstauglich
  • Günstig
  • Swiss Design

Wohlfühlfaktor für Ihr Tier

  • Leicht
  • Klein
  • Vertraut
  • Robust
  • Diskret
petpointer GPS Tracking

Hersteller - Swiss designed

Der petpointer wurde in der Schweiz von der HergTech AG in Kooperation mit der Schweizerischen Tiermeldezentrale, mit Ortungsspezialisten führender Schweizerischer Universitäten und unterschiedlichen Ingenieurbüros aus der Uhrenindustrie entwickelt und erprobt.

Um besonders hohen Qualitätsansprüchen gerecht zu werden, wird der petpointer auch in der Schweiz produziert. Mit Swisscom als führendem Kommunikationspartner ist auch dieser Bereich optimal abgedeckt.

petpointer GPS Tracking Route
petpointer GPS Tracking
petpointer GPS Tracking

Abonnement

  • 6/12/24 Monate
    Laufzeit

pro Monat ab

4.95

CHF

EU  ab € 3.95

England ab £ 3.65
Dänemark ab DKK 33.25
Schweden ab SEK 39.95
Norwegen ab NOK 39.95
*1 Preisvergleich EU inklusive 20% Mehrwertsteuer
Preisangaben bezogen auf die Schweiz.
Preise für Gerät und Abonnement sind landesabhängig.

Alle Länder: Visa, Mastercard
Schweiz (zusätzlich): AmericanExpress, Swisscom, PostFinance e-Finance & Card
Positionsmeldungen Ihres Tieres werden auf petpointer.ch zentral verwaltet, damit Sie diese online mit einem PC, Laptop oder einem Smartphone abfragen können.

Diese Positionsübermittlung (Gerät zur zentralen Datenverwaltung) benötigt ein Abonnement, welches für 6, 12 oder 24 Monate in der Verwaltung nach der Registration auf petpointer.ch gekauft wird.

Das petpointer-Abonnement regelt nur die Datenübermittlung eines petpointers zur Datenverwaltung. Es deckt sämtliche Kosten dieser Übermittlung im In- oder Ausland. Es entstehen Ihnen keine Roaming-Gebühren im Ausland. Dieser Datenaustausch funktioniert in über 220 Ländern, darunter in ganz Europa.

Wenn Sie Positionsmeldungen via App oder petpointer.ch vom Server auf einem Mobilfunknetz abrufen, so fallen die üblichen Daten-Gebühren Ihres Handy-Providers für das Internet an.

Fragen

Ist Ihre Frage nicht dabei? Gerne beantworten wir diese persönlich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns einfach per Email oder Telefon.

Petpointer eignet sich für Katzen und Hunde jeder Art.

Petpointer ist so konstruiert, dass er, wenn er nicht sendet, ausgeschaltet ist. Kein Senden, praktisch kein Standby, nichts. Je nach Bedarf wird das Gerät dann von einer kleinen internen Uhr geweckt. Anschliessend bestimmt der petpointer seinen Standort und übermittelt diesen an die Zentrale. In diesem Moment können dem petpointer in Bezug auf die Häufigkeit der Positionsbestimmungen neue Anweisungen gegeben werden. Diese werden irgendwann vorher in einer Art "Briefkasten" deponiert. Sobald der "Briefkasten" geleert und die Anweisung umgesetzt wurde, schaltet sich das Gerät wieder aus.

Diese Vorgehensweise wurde deshalb gewählt, weil dadurch die Belastung des Tieres minimiert werden kann. Im Moment in dem gesendet wird, entspricht diese jener beim Telefonieren mit dem Handy.

Da jedoch stundenweises telefonieren auch für uns Menschen nicht unbedingt gesund ist, empfehlen wir die Positionsabfrage ca. alle ein bis zwei Stunden machen zu lassen. Diese dauert dann nur wenige Sekunden.

Ein intensiveres Tracking ist sicherlich am Anfang interessant, um zu wissen, wie denn die Wanderroute des Lieblings verläuft, jedoch wird dies auf lange Zeit, sprich über mehrere Tage nicht empfohlen. Aus diesem Grunde sind das sogenannte "Full Tracking" und die Ortung alle 15 Minuten zeitlich begrenzt.

Beim Katzenhalsband kommt dem Sicherheitsverschluss eine ganz zentrale Bedeutung zu, ansonsten das Halsband zur Falle werden kann. Um die Gefahren einer Strangulierung oder des Einfädelns mit den Vorderbeinen zu beseitigen, hat die Schweizerische Tiermeldezentrale, STMZ, vor einigen Jahren ein eigenes Sicherheitshalsband entwickeln lassen und dies stetig weiterentwickelt. Das Halsband ist bis zum heutigen Zeitpunkt einzigartig.

Zusammen mit Ingenieuren der Uhrenindustrie und verschiedenen Tierärzten wurde ein Halsband entwickelt, dessen Verschluss wie eine Skibindung individuell auf das Tier eingestellt werden kann. Er löst sowohl in seitlicher als auch in Längsrichtung aus und kann auf 200 Gramm genau eingestellt werden. Dieses Halsband wurde von der EPFL geprüft. Mit dem cat-life Katzenhalsband können schwere Unfälle verhindert werden.

TV Beitrag ansehen

Es kommt immer wieder die Frage auf, ob man nicht einfach einen Chip mit derselben Funktion implantieren kann. Dies ist aus verschiedenen Gründen nicht möglich:

Die Technik zur Ortung und anschliessender Übermittelung ist (noch) zu gross. Petpointer benutzt die weltweit kleinstmöglichen Elemente und braucht dafür immer noch ca. 14cm2!

Wenn man den Standort ermitteln und dies anschliessend an eine Zentrale weiterleiten möchte, so braucht dies Energie. Die für dieses Produkt geeigneten Akkus sind aber für eine Implantierung noch viel zu gross und absolut ungeeignet. Zudem muss diese Energiequelle immer wieder aufgeladen werden.

Petpointer setzt die absolut neueste Technik ein, sowohl bei der Ortung, als auch bei der Übermittlung der Daten. Dies führt zu einer noch nie dagewesenen Präzision und der Möglichkeit, das Gerät in 220 Länder ohne zusätzliche Roamingkosten einzusetzen.

Die fortgeschrittene Technik ermöglicht zudem die Bauweise auf kleinstem Raum. Petpointer ist im Moment der weltweit kleinste Tracker für Haustiere.

Petpointer kann ganz einfach an jedes handelsübliche Halsband montiert werden. Eine Umgewöhnung für das Tier und den Besitzer ist somit nicht notwendig. Ein Batteriewechsel ist sehr einfach und kann ohne Abnahme des Halsbandes durchgeführt werden.

Der Provider des Users ist insofern nicht relevant, als petpointer seine Daten auf einem Server abspeichert. Diese Datenübertragung erfolgt im Mobilfunknetz durch "Machine-to-Machine" (M2M) Technologie, für welche die Swisscom verantwortlich ist. Im Ausland werden jeweils die lokalen Provider eingesetzt. Vom Server können diese Informationen dann mittels Smartphone, Laptop oder PC jederzeit abgefragt werden. Welcher Provider dabei eingesetzt wird, ist absolut irrelevant.

Petpointer ist grundsätzlich für jenes Land bestimmt, in welchem er gekauft wird. Bedingt durch seine moderne Technik kann petpointer jedoch in über 220 Ländern eingesetzt werden. Damit ist er auch ein zuverlässiger Begleiter in den Ferien.

Qualität verpflichtet. Aus diesem Grunde wurde petpointer in der Schweiz in Zusammenarbeit mit der Schweizerischen Tiermeldezentrale, Ortungsspezialisten führender Universitäten und Ingenieuren aus der Uhrenindustrie entwickelt.

Neben der Forschung und Entwicklung wird petpointer auch in der Schweiz produziert. Die Kommunikation zwischen petpointer und dem Server wird zudem vom grössten Provider der Schweiz, der Swisscom sichergestellt.

Weiterempfehlen

Der petpointer wird von der STMZ (Schweizerische Tiermeldezentrale) offiziell empfohlen. Empfehlen auch Sie ihn weiter. Und helfen Sie anderen Tierfreunden dabei, ihr geliebtes Haustier nicht zu vermissen, sondern in Sicherheit zu wissen. Herzlichen Dank!

Route
petpointer GPS Tracking